New-ish world (work vs study)

Two months ago I made the transition from full-time work to student. And it’s been a breath of fresh air. When January 2013 arrived, I knew it was time for me to move in a a new direction. That new direction being an experiment as well as a break. I’m currently studying ‘Small Business Management’ and while doing this am asking myself the question

“Can I move my career from the workplace to one of self- employment?”

At the moment – I’d say I think so and hope so. At least there will be a chance if I can get through the pile of assignment we have due this week!

This course is a good preparation for small business for three key reasons.

First and foremost – the people. Our teachers own small businesses themselves and their lessons are hands-on and full of great experience. And students that have continued to this stage are sticking around because they want to give their small business the best shot they can (like me) or are doing the course to improve their chances of sustaining their fledgling businesses (most 6-12 months old or less). So I’m appreciating the opportunity to be learning something new in an environment of like-minded people.

Secondly – many people choose to start their own business so they can work in a more flexible manner. This suits me. Some weeks are busy, whilst others are quite cruisy. There’s limited ‘core hours’ each week due to the work we must do at home. I really like being able to choose when I study and when I can play.

Thirdly – this week is a major assessment week (4 assignments due within 7 days). So it’s been pretty intense. I did a few hours work  on the assignment 3 out of 4 days over the recent Easter Long weekend! I’ve not counted the number of hours I’ve been putting in this week, and am glad I don’t have to (like I would with an employer).  This is apparently how it is in business -work arrives in droughts and floods and ever. So this week has been a good practice for how things may be in the future.

So why am I writing this post?

Partly to connect with people I haven’t seen in a while or don’t see every day (will be sharing my blog with you shortly). I’ve never had a blog before – so please be nice 😛

And partly because of my next assignment due in a few weeks time (yes -they just keep on coming).  The aim is to create a blog on any topic, post regularly (at least once per week), obtain some followers, and see how it works.

So  please stay tuned and be welcome to comment back (it may help me get an extra mark or two in my future assignment). Extra nice comments might score a free coffee…

Importantly, if all goes well and I can figure out how blogging works, then perhaps I’ll be able to set up a blog for my business when it’s up and running to.

Looking forward to hearing back from some of you. Especially those of you I haven’t spoken to in a while.

Leave a Reply

